Broken Hill Health Service Pharmacist honoured with early career award

A clinical pharmacist at Broken Hill Health Service has been honoured by being selected as the 2018 Society of Hospital Pharmacists NSW Branch Early Career Pharmacist.

Pharmacist Alexandra Kusiak was presented the award in recognition of service to the profession and acknowledges her contribution to the pharmacy service at BHHS and Far West LHD.

“Alex well deserves the award and is an excellent example of how a young health professional can extend their skills and gain experiences beyond the norm in rural and remote practice,” said Ruth Martin, District Chief Pharmacist for Far West Local Health District.

“As well as excellent clinical skills, Alex is the main force behind our Antimicrobial Stewardship Program and pharmacist intern training at BHHS,” she said.

Alexandra Kusiak began work at BHHS in March 2015 as a first-year registered pharmacist. She is one of only two clinical pharmacists employed at BHHS and has embraced living and working in a remote regional area after living the city life and meets the challenges of rural and remote healthcare with great professionalism.

Ms Martin said whilst here Alex has been instrumental in formalising the intern training program, compiling education resources and organising tutorials for the LHD’s interns and other pharmacist interns based in community pharmacies in Broken Hill.

“Her enthusiasm and skill in clinical pharmacy is shared with the many pharmacy students who come on their rural placements to Broken Hill (up to 20 a year for 1-2 weeks at a time from all around Australia),” said Ms Martin.

“She works closely with all members of the multidisciplinary team and has proactive relationships with other allied health, medical and nursing staff. In 2017 she was the recipient of the annual Early Career Excellence, Far West LHD Excellence in Service Award, having been nominated by her peers.”

The Far West Local Health District extended its congratulations to Alexandra Kusiak on winning this award.



Comments are closed.