Dr David Bowler Memorial Scholarship Nominations Open

Nominations are now open for the 2016 David Bowler Memorial Scholarship.

The scholarship is an annual grant (currently $5000) funded by the Broken Hill Health Service and the Broken Hill City Council to medical students in offsetting expenses associated with a course of study in a health related discipline.

Mayor Wincen Cuy said the scholarship was targeted at local students in encouraging them to pursue a course of study in a health related field with a view to practising in the Medical Catchment Area of the Broken Hill Health Service upon completion of their studies.

“This is a wonderful opportunity for a health student to realise their goals as well as providing a great opportunity to return to the region to carry out their profession,” Mayor Cuy said.

“Dr David Bowler was passionate about our region and providing the opportunity for local students to pursue a health career.”

The award is a $5,000 lump sum payment to a student pursuing a course in a health-related discipline at a recognised tertiary institution. It is designed to provide financial support to a local student by helping pay for the costs associated with that study.

“Not only is this award a prestigious honour, it also encourages young health professionals to consider a career in rural practise and that is extremely important for the Far West region. By supporting our young health students we are always hopeful that they will return to our region and provide wonderful support to the community,” Mayor Cuy said.

Broken Hill Health Service General Manager, Mr Ken Barnett said the Health Service was once again pleased to be able to offer the David Bowler Memorial Scholarship in conjunction with Broken Hill City Council.

“The scholarship assists the Health Service in its endeavours to have a predominantly resident workforce. It supports locals who seek a career in health and hopefully to one day practice on their home turf when they graduate,” Mr Barnett said.

“We expect the scholarship will attract a strong field of nominations on par with previous years.”

Nomination forms can be downloaded from Council’s website. Nominations close 29 January, 2016.


Comments are closed.